Dia de los Muertos

I am half Mexican, a half of which I am very proud. We have a tradition that has become fairly popular lately in the mainstream of America. That is Dia de los Muertos. A celebration of life, of our loved ones that have passed on. We honor their memory and believe that for that one day they come back to walk among us again. Many people make shrines either at home, at burial sites, or even in public areas. You can add anything to your shrine that reminds you of you of this person (photos, food items, etc). Most people add hand-painted sugar skulls as well. This is the small tribute that my Mom and I paid to my grandpa who passed in 2008. His life was made up of 16′s. He was born on the 16th and died on the 16th and had a many important 16th days in between. My Mom and I went to his grave site the day before her surgery and left him his favorite things. A small piece of dark chocolate, a cup of coffee, and a small skull for our “shrine.”

Dia de los Muertos 2012

This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dia de los Muertos

  1. My Lady is half mexican and I have really grown to love dia de los muertos ! It was nice to read this post !

  2. Pingback: Showing that Blogger Love: Check out The jesscvt Blog | A Spoonful of Suga

Leave a Reply

