6 Degrees of Separation From Kevin Bacon…. or Cancer

My Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer in August. I can say that after her diagnosis, it is amazing how many people have come out and told me their stories of brushes with cancer. So many people have had relatives, friends, teachers, lovers and on and on that have had to deal with cancer on a variety of different levels. It’s like that 6 Degrees of Kevin Bacon game, everyone is connected somehow, in some way. It is humbling to know how prevalent cancer is,  although we never think it will “happen” to ourselves or to a loved one. We are fortunate that it is very early stages and that the surgeon thinks that surgery will be curative. Although the surgeon told my Mom that a lumpectomy was all that was necessary, my Mom opted for a double mastectomy. As she puts it,” Why would I want to worry about possibly dealing with this again in 5-10-15 years?” It’s interesting what happens in life that puts our relationships in perspective. I have always felt such gratitude and love for my parents, but as I age, as they age, our relationship becomes more and more important to me. In adulthood, my Mom has moved from being “just Mom” to becoming one of my closest friends and confidants. When I first found out, it was terrifying. I know that at some point in my life I will have to deal with losing her, but I wasn’t ready yet, and thought of losing her so soon was…. scary. What would my life be like without her? As I learned more about what the surgeon and oncologist were saying about how early it was caught, I became less scared of the cancer itself, but more scared of the 12-hour surgery taking place next week. I will be moving in with her and my Dad temporarily to help take care of her after she returns from her hospital stay. I only hope that I can take care of her as well as she and my Dad have taken care of me over the years. I feel so lucky to have the amazing support system that I do, but I know that I will not be able to relax until Tuesday has come and gone. Then hopefully I can breath out a sigh of relief and we can move on to the journey of recovery….

Image

This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 6 Degrees of Separation From Kevin Bacon…. or Cancer

  1. Pingback: Showing that Blogger Love: Check out The jesscvt Blog | A Spoonful of Suga

  2. Victoria says:

    Beautiful Ladies!
    Much love and strength to you both, and Family.

Leave a Reply

