It’s OK To Be Derogatory When…

I was on a social media network earlier today and saw a friend’s post about Voting No for the upcoming marriage amendment act in MN. Reading through the comments on the post, I found one saying ,” I saw this billboard today with a ‘pretentious colored couple’ supporting Vote Yes…” I had to stop and re-read it because surely someone supporting gay rights would be not be so closed-minded to say something so racist. I commented back saying that I understood the anger in restricting people’s rights, but was it necessary to use the term “colored.” She said that she “normally was not racist, but that some of our ancestors fought for their civil rights ‘without judgement’ and now they’re spitting in our faces…” apparently this makes it appropriate to use that terminology. I didn’t know there was such a thing as being a occasional/part-time racist. So I asked this, if it were the other way around, would it then be acceptable for someone to say “I saw this billboard with this pretentious faggot couple not supporting black civil rights” ? Ya, I didn’t think so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s OK To Be Derogatory When…

  1. Wow. I guess it’s a good thing, in a way, that statements like hers take us aback. and you made an excellent point with your flip of her statement.

    • jesscvt says:

      I completely agree. I just don’t believe in saying those kinds of remarks regardless of the situation. It’s never OK and it doesn’t move us forward and it doesn’t help any cause one fights for to keep perpetuating hatred.

Leave a Reply

