Reflections

A friend of mine, Asha Marie, has been posting monthly photo series on Facebook. She chooses one theme every month and takes one photo per day for the month that she believes represents that theme. I asked her if I could “steal” this idea and she gave me the green light. I have been ruminating on which theme I wanted to use for my first month, May. May is rife with feelings and events for me. Loren’s anniversary of the car accident and her death are on May 1 and 2nd, my boyfriend Vanella’s birthday is on May 3rd, then comes Cinco de Mayo (which as a Mexican I don’t find to be all that important but nonetheless fun to celebrate), my mother and family and I are doing a breast cancer walk on Mother’s Day, then my birthday is on May 28th, and I suppose you can throw Memorial Day in there too. This May I will be entering the last year of my 20’s. Turning 29 does not scare me even though the thought of turning 30 next year feels odd. I do not by any means feel old, but I do feel as though… “am I really only 29 and am I already turning 29?” at the same time. I think back on my life so far and see that I have already had so many experiences and I look forward to, hopefully, many more.

So, I have decided to make my theme for May: Reflections. I will also be posting these to my Tumblr feed. http://jesscvt.tumblr.com/. I hope they are enjoyable and inspiring. Especially since it seems this winter here in MN will never end. Space-time continuum rift? 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflections

  1. I love this idea. When I read of all your activities coming up in May, I thought you might pick “Celebrations.”

    I want to steal this idea, too. Your friend is on to something.

Leave a Reply

